The Soundtrack of My Year

I said Courage, won’t you come out to play, won’t you come out to play
I’ve been livin’ it down again, I’m gonna need to call your friends
So here’s a hopin’ I find you along the way
“Courage” by Justin Hines

Music gets me through life. When I’m hitting a low, music is there to console, strengthen, reassure, carry, and soothe me.

Everybody’s been there
Everybody’s been stared down by the enemy
Fallen for the fear
And done some disappearing
Bow down to the mighty
Don’t run, just stop holding your tongue
“Brave” by Sara Bareilles

When I’m riding high, it helps me to celebrate or release. And, of course, I listen to music to entertain and inspire.

And we don’t let nobody bring us down
No matter what you say – it won’t hurt me
Don’t matter if I fall from the sky
These wings are made to fly
“Wings” by Little Mix

When I was younger, I loved everything about the movie “Grease” and listened, sang, and danced to the soundtrack daily. Little did I realize how annoying this could be to anyone who wasn’t a fan…or was normal. One day, my brother’s friend was painting my family’s garage door, which happened to be below my bedroom. Later, my brother told me that his friend now hated the song “You’re the One that I Want” after hearing me play it for umpteen times.

Just like when I was little, I can still listen to songs again and again, especially when I need support.

Well, I don’t care now what you say
‘Cos ev’ry day I’m feeling fine with myself
And I don’t care now what you say
Hey I’ll do alright by myself
“I Don’t Care Anymore” by Phil Collins

When my Honey Grandma died in 2008, I listened to two songs in succession over and over again. One for consolation; the other for perseverance. At the time, part of my work commute entailed a 15 minute walk. For weeks, I listened only to those two songs during that walk.

Thought I couldn’t live without you
It’s gonna hurt when it heals too
It’ll all get better in time
“Better in Time” by Leona Lewis

 In 2014, I needed music. A lot.

I’ve been lost and I’ve found
That when you get lost
You don’t look down
But you look above,
Yeah you look ahead
And you raise your hands
To the sky instead
“Lost and Found” by Kim Taylor

I even found additional songs and new artists to get me through some tough times. And true to form, I listened to certain songs again and again and again. As much as they helped, I’m looking forward to a new soundtrack in 2015.

What are you looking forward to in 2015?

This entry was published on December 21, 2014 at 7:53 pm and is filed under Adjustments, Budapest, Event, Family, Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “The Soundtrack of My Year

  1. Just listened to Missy Higgins. She’s pretty cool. Also, I don’t know what I would do without music here in China. I can’t imagine life here w/o MP3s and YouTube. I never would’ve been able to fit all of my CDs in our luggage and probably wouldn’t have been able to discover new music as easily.

    • Glad you like Missy Higgins! There wasn’t a concert link for Kim Taylor, but I’d highly recommend listening to her songs too. I welcome any recommendations you have for new artists. YouTube has been a savior!

Leave a Reply

