Fast Forward

As you probably guessed, I was offered and accepted the job. That happened in late June. I flew to Budapest for a work retreat in early July. To say my life became a whirlwind is an understatement. Who calls Stanley Steemer at 5:30 am to change the timing of a cleaning and expects them to answer? And yet, someone did answer the phone!

My friend Paul was a godsend during this time. Having gone through an international move, he validated all my feelings and experiences and always said (or actually wrote via e-mail) the right thing. He’s amazing like that.

Somehow most things got done—the important things got done. I left the States on August 9, arrived in Budapest on August 10, and started work on August 12.

I landed on a Saturday and was so exhausted that I had to take a nap. The next order of business was eating. Fortunately, there was a supermarket not too far away. My first purchase of groceries was an odd mix. Look closely at the picture. Everything you see was purchased for just a little more than US$18. Yes, that includes the bottle of wine. I went to a local food market the next day where I purchased produce, cheese, and sliced meat. I love the local markets in Budapest. More on that in another post.

I’ve had some pretty funny trial and errors when it came to food. The first is the yogurt-looking container that you see in the picture above. It turned out to be some type of salty Turkish yogurt-like substance. No thank you. Here’s a charming description about its benefits from a Kefir website: “Although it is slightly mucous forming, the mucous has a ‘clean’ quality to it that creates ideal conditions in the digestive tract for the colonization of friendly bacteria.” Ah yes, a clean quality mucous. Yum.

And then there was the butter. I thought had I purchased regular butter in a tub. But when I opened it, I found something orange! Turns out, it was a savory butter spread. I used it (as you can probably tell from the picture), but it certainly was an initial surprise.

The first few meals I made weren’t anything special. I made pasta with fresh tomatoes or a fantastic Bolognese sauce I soon found at the market. I also cooked frozen veggies with potatoes and eggs or combined them with cheese on top of a baked potato. At least the meals were colorful!

Coming up: Getting Started?

This entry was published on October 1, 2013 at 11:33 pm and is filed under Budapest, Food, Friend, Thanks, Wine. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Fast Forward

  1. Grizabelle on said:

    I’m looking forward to more pics of great Hungarian meals, both home-cooked and in restaurants!

Leave a Reply

